New York State's New Guidelines Allow Out-of-State Travelers to Test Out of Mandatory 14-Day Quarantine

Effective November 4, 2020, new guidelines in New York State allow out-of-state travelers to test out of the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Essential workers and travelers from states that are contiguous with New York State will continue to be exempt from the travel advisory.

For travelers to New York State from out of state, exempting the contiguous states, the new guidelines for travelers to test out of the mandatory 14-day quarantine are below:
For travelers who were in another state for more than 24 hours:

  • They must obtain a COVID-19 test within three days prior to departure from that state.
  • They must, upon arrival in New York State, quarantine for a minimum of three days.
  • On day four of their quarantine, they must obtain another COVID-19 test. If both tests come back negative, the traveler may exit quarantine early upon receipt of the second negative COVID-19 test.

For travelers who were in another state for less than 24 hours:

  • They do not need a COVID-19 test prior to their departure from the other state.
  • They do not need to quarantine upon arrival in New York State.
  • They must take a COVID-19 test four days after their arrival in New York State.

All covered travelers must continue to fill out a traveler health form upon arrival to New York State.

Local health departments will validate tests, if necessary. For positive tests, they will issue isolation orders and initiate contact tracing. The local health department will also contact the state the traveler came from to ensure that contact tracing is performed there as well.

For further information regarding how the travel advisory may affect your organization, please contact Laura L. Spring, Esq. at CCBLaw.